DBT Made Simple – A Step-by-Step Guide to Dialectical Behavior Therapy

DBT Made Simple – A Step-by-Step Guide to Dialectical Behavior Therapy

Sheri Van Dijk, MSW
Originally developed for the treatment of borderline personality disorder, dialectical behavior therapy, or DBT, has rapidly become one of the most popular and most effective treatments for all mental health conditions rooted in out-of-control emotions. However, there are limited resources for psychologists seeking to use DBT skills with individual clients. In the tradition of ACT Made Simple, DBT Made Simple provides clinicians with everything they need to know to start using DBT in the therapy room.
Item: DBTM
Price: $40.00
Quantity Add to wish list

Full Description

Originally developed for the treatment of borderline personality disorder, dialectical behavior therapy, or DBT, has rapidly become one of the most popular and most effective treatments for all mental health conditions rooted in out-of-control emotions. However, there are limited resources for psychologists seeking to use DBT skills with individual clients. In the tradition of ACT Made Simple, DBT Made Simple provides clinicians with everything they need to know to start using DBT in the therapy room.

The first part of this book briefly covers the theory and research behind DBT and explains how DBT differs from traditional cognitive behavioral therapy approaches. The second part focuses on strategies professionals can use in individual client sessions, while the third section teaches the four skills modules that form the backbone of DBT: core mindfulness, distress tolerance, emotion regulation, and interpersonal effectiveness. The book includes handouts, case examples, and example therapist-client dialogue—everything clinicians need to equip their clients with these effective and life-changing skills.

Details
Item DBTM
ISBN# 978-1608821648
Pages 216
Cover softback
Year 2013

Authors

Sheri Van Dijk, MSW, is a mental health therapist and renowned dialectical behavior therapy (DBT) expert. She is author of seven books, including Calming the Emotional Storm, Don’t Let Your Emotions Run Your Life for Teens, and Relationship Skills101 for Teens. Her books focus on using DBT skills to help people manage their emotions and cultivate lasting well-being. She is also the recipient of the R.O. Jones Award from the Canadian Psychiatric Association

Contents

Part 1, The Foundation

1.) The Basics of DBT

2.) Preparing for the Individual Session: What You Need to Know

3.) The “B” in DBT: What You Need to Know

4.) DBT Strategies for the Individual Session

Part 2, The Skills

5.) Introducing Clients to Mindfulness

6.) Additional Skills for Mindfulness

7.) Helping Clients Reduce Emotional Reactivity

8.) Helping Clients Survive a Crisis: Distress Tolerance Skills

9.) What Clients Need to Know about Emotions

10.) Skills to Help Clients Regulate Emotions: Reducing Painful Emotions

11.) Skills to Help Clients Regulate Emotions: Increasing Positive Emotions

12.) Helping Clients Become More Effective in Relationships

Conclusion: Putting It All Together

References

Index

Excerpts

If you are a therapist new to DBT, this book will provide you with everything you need to use the model to treat people with problems involving emotional dysregulation. For therapists whose goal is to learn how to provide DBT for individuals with BPD, this book will be a good start, but in the long run you’ll need to read Linehan’s seminal text, Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Borderline Personality Disorder (1993a). If you’ve already received training in DBT and use it in your practice, this book will be a good review and will also provide some helpful suggestions and handouts. In addition, this book will help you use DBT for mental illness other than BPD and will provide you with different ways of thinking and teaching DBT skills to clients.

Reviews

“DBT Made Simple is an incredibly useful book that distills key elements of DBT into a clear, concise, and practical guide. Illuminating clinical examples bring to life several DBT strategies and principles, and practitioners will appreciate the many useful forms and handouts provided in this book. I recommend this book to students and mental health professionals seeking a concise, practical introduction to DBT.”

-Alexander L. Chapman, PhD, RPsych, author of The Borderline Personality Disorder Survival Guide and associate professor in the department of psychology at Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, BC, Canada